AAUW - American Association of University Women of Michigan

The Michigan Division of the American Association of University Women held its organizational meeting on February 24, 1922, in Detroit, the state had ten branches totaling 700 members.  The ten branches were: Detroit, Ann Arbor-Ypsilanti, Lansing, Niles, Battle Creek, Flint, Birmingham, Port Huron, Saginaw and Iron Mountain. The delegates elected Miss Fandira Crocker, a former president of the Ann Arbor Branch (1912-1913), as the first State President.
The American Association of University Women of Michigan (AAUWMI) since 1922 has advanced equity for women and girls moving forward the goals of advocacy, education, philanthropy, and research. AAUWMI, a state affiliate of the national organization AAUW, has nearly 2,700 members in 33 branches, of which AAUW of Detroit Branch, Inc., is the oldest, established in 1889, and the oldest continuously active women's organization in Michigan. 
AAUW, a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization has more than 170,000 members and supporters across the United States, as well as 1,000 local branches and 700 college and university partners. Since AAUW's founding, our members have examined and taken positions on the fundamental issues of the day -- educational, social, economic and political.
We work to empower women.